Book Club: The Girl With All The Gifts

Join Book Club on Tuesday, October 23rd as we read USA Today bestseller The Girl With All The Gifts, a groundbreaking dystopian thriller perfect for fans of Stephen King.
Melanie is a very special girl. Dr. Caldwell calls her “our little genius.”

Every morning, Melanie waits in her cell to be collected for class. When they come for her, Sergeant Parks keeps his gun pointing at her while two of his people strap her into the wheelchair. She thinks they don’t like her. She jokes that she won’t bite, but they don’t laugh.Melanie loves school. She loves learning about spelling and sums and the world outside the classroom and the children’s cells. She tells her favorite teacher all the things she’ll do when she grows up. Melanie doesn’t know why this makes Miss Justineau look sad.

Emotionally charged and gripping from beginning to end, The Girl With All The Gifts promises readers a thought-provoking and unconventional read. We hope you will be able to join us for our conversation! Please email uvanyc@uvanyc.org to RSVP. 

 

Previous selections for 2018 have included:

  • January: Lord of the Flies by William Golding
  • February: Call Me By Your Name by Andre Aciman
  • April: A Wrinkle in Time by Madeline L’Engle
  • May: Sing, Unburied, Sing by Jesmyn Ward
  • July: Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mendel
  • September: We Were the Lucky Ones by Georgia Hunter (CLAS ’00)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *